Navigator Awards

mikeRogersThe Potomac Institute for Policy Studies is pleased to announce that US Rep. Mike Rogers (MI-08) has been named a recipient of a 2012 Navigator Award. Rep. Rogers and fellow awardees will be honored at a banquet at the Willard InterContinental Hotel on Thursday, June 21. This will be the 11th Navigator Awards event.

Regarding the selection of  Rep. Rogers for a Navigator Award, Potomac Institute for Policy Studies Chairman and CEO Michael Swetnam said, "Congressman Mike Rogers is a true leader. As Chairman of the House Intelligence Committee, he has been committed to reaching across the aisle and bridging political differences to ensure that the interests of our national security come first. His ability to rise above partisan politics and his dedication to service are in the finest tradition of our Navigator Award winners, and we are privileged to honor him this year." See the announcement on Rep. Rogers' Facebook page, here.

Rep. Rogers grew up in Michigan, and after attending Adrian College he was a commissioned officer in the United States Army, then continued to serve his country as an FBI special agent in Chicago, where he fought organized crime and public corruption. After being elected to the Michigan Senate in 1995, he won a seat in Congress in 2000, where he has been serving ever since. Last year, Rep. Rogers was selected by Speaker John Boehner to be Chairman of the House Intelligence Committee, where he has been a leader on national security policy and is a familiar face on television and in print media.

The Potomac Institute for Policy Studies' Navigator Awards are presented to members of Congress and to representatives of the executive branch, industry and academia in recognition of their distinguished contributions in the arena of science and technology. The Navigator Award is named as a tribute to those leaders in science and technology who act as pathfinders in the pursuit of knowledge.  Recipients in 2010 were Arden L. Bement, Jr., PhD, former Director of the National Science Foundation; Jeffrey Wadsworth, PhD, President and CEO of the Battelle Memorial Foundation; Elon Musk, CEO/CTO of Space Exploration Technologies (SpaceX) and CEO and Product Architect of Tesla Motors; and Gerald Edelman, MD, PhD, Director of The Neurosciences Institute, President of Neurosciences Research Foundation, and a Nobel laureate (1972 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine).  Other past recipients include:  Dr. Rita Colwell, Dr. Charles Herzfeld, VADM Paul Gaffney, Dr. Tony Tether, Dr. John Marburger, Dr. John Young, Senator Pat Roberts, Senator Joseph Lieberman, Senator Jeff Bingaman, Rep. Pete Hoekstra, Rep. Dana Rohrabacher, General Al Gray, In-Q-Tel CEO Mr. Gilman Louie, former Scientific American Editor-in-Chief Mr. John Rennie, and other distinguished thought leaders.


Watch our website for additional announcements regarding this year's Navigator Award winners.