Navigator Awards

The Institute’s 12th Navigator Awards ceremony marked the 20th Anniversary of the founding of the Potomac Institute. Past honorees include General Alfred Gray, Jr., former Commandant of the U.S. Marine Corps, (2000); General Keith Alexander, USA, former Director of the National Security Agency, (2006); Elon Musk, CEO of Space Exploration Technologies (SpaceX) and CEO of Tesla Motors, (2010); Congressman Mike Rogers, former Chairman of the House Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence (2012); and James Clapper, Director of National Intelligence (2012).

The Potomac Institute’s Navigator Awards recognize individuals who have sought bold solutions to national challenges. These leaders – hailing from Congress, the Administration, and the private sector – have striven to improve science and technology policy throughout their careers. They not only work to diagnose the problems of today, but also actively address the demands of the future, allowing our country to operate from a position of confidence, preparedness, and strength. The 2015 Navigator Awardees: The Honorable Mac Thornberry, The Honorable Alan Shaffer, and Dr. David Brin.